Pia Schölnberger

Studied German studies and history at the University of Vienna; employed in the General Settlement Fund and NS "Euthanasia" memorials in Hartheim and Am Spiegelgrund; 2008–11 project work on politically motivated asset expropriation in Vienna 1933–38 in the Department of Legal and Constitutional History of the University of Vienna; doctorate with a thesis on the Austro-Fascist Wöllersdorf detention camp; 2011–17 provenance researcher in the Albertina on behalf of the Commission for Provenance Research; 2017 transfer to art and culture section, at the time in the Federal Chancellery; since 2019 administrative director of the Commission for Provenance Research.

On 4 July 1776, American Independence Day, the imperial envoy Giacomo Durazzo in Venice gave Duke Albert von Sachsen-Teschen (1738–1822) and his wife Marie Christine (1742–1798) a collection of engravings he had commissioned two years earlier.

The Augustinerkeller in the centre of Vienna was used as a depot to house the art collection belonging to Count Karl Lanckoronski (1848–1939), which had been seized in autumn 1939 from his son Anton in accordance with the Regulation on Management of the Assets of Members of the

The Munich lawyer Alexander Bayer was admitted in early February 1931 to the Munich branch of the NSDAP with the number 423.018 but left six months later because – as he stated in 1942 – as defence counsel for Erich Lude

After studying law at the University of Vienna, Josef Blauhorn joined the Prager Eisenindustrie-Gesellschaft, before becoming sole Prokurist in 1916 of the Vienna bank Gebrüder Gutmann, where he worked until escaping from Austria in 1939.

From 1926 Bernhard Degenhart studied art history in Munich, Vienna and Berlin. He wrote his thesis on Lorenzo di Credi at the University of Munich at first with August Liebmann Mayer.

In 1919 at the age of nineteen, Josef Zdenko Dworak, whose father Wenzel Dworak already managed a transport company, founded his own transport company

August and Helene Eymer, who arrived in Austria in the 1910s and became Austrian citizens in 1933, managed the

After Benno Fleischmann had completed his study of art history, archaeology, philosophy and the auxiliary science of history at the University of Vienna in 1930 with a thesis on Giovanni Bellini, he worked initially as a

After his marriage to Clara Dresel (1878–1947), Julius Freund became co-proprietor in 1902 of his father-in-law's ladies' wear company Wilhelm Dresel at Niederwallstraße 13 in Berlin.

Alois Getzinger trained as a waiter and opened a junk shop at Turnergasse 28 in Vienna's 15th district. Between 1935 and 1938 he was also an expert in effects and furniture.

Emil Goldmann was born in Swoikowitz, Moravia, in 1872 as the oldest of nine children of the tenant farmer Jakob Goldmann and his wife Amalie.

The Viennese book and art antique dealership Gilhofer was founded in 1883 by Hermann Gilhofer (1852–1913) as a general bookshop at Bognergasse 2 in the centre of Vienna.

David Goldmann came from extremely modest circumstances to settle in Vienna in the early 1910s, from where he worked his way up to become director of Ujpester Tuchfabriks AG in Budapest, Wollwarenverkaufs AG in Günzelsdorf and Stoffdruckfabrik in Guntramsdorf.

Elisabeth Grünbaum, the youngest of eight children, came from a well-situated Jewish family and grew up in Praterstraße in Vienna’s 2nd district.

After graduating from high school at the German k. k. Gymnasium in Brno in 1899, Franz Friedrich Grünbaum came to Vienna to study law. He took only one of the three state examinations, however, and embarked instead on a career as an actor, librettist and cabaret artist.

Moriz Grünebaum was the son of Gustav Grünebaum, k. k. Hofrat and head of the Bauabteilung der Staatsbahnen (building department of the state railways), who was made a hereditary peer in 1876.

Margarethe Hassel worked from 1909 to 1927 as a bank teller at the Creditanstalt and then for other unidentified employers in Vienna.

After graduating from the Staatsgymnasium in Znaim (Znojmo), Josef Hupka returned to Vienna to study law. In 1897, the year of his doctorate, he converted from Judaism to Protestantism.

From 1946 to 1964, Anton Jancsy had a retail art dealership at Spiegelgasse 8 in Vienna's 1st district.

Hubert Wilhelm Jung was born in Stuttgart in 1883 as the youngest of seven children. After attending secondary school in Ravensburg, he registered in 1904 in the Architecture Department of the University of Technology in Munich.

Kunst- und Musikalienhandlung L. T. Neumann, named after its founder Leopold Theodor Neumann (1804–1876), opened in 1833 at the exclusive address Kohlmarkt 11 in Vienna's 1st district.

Adele Pächter was married to Hermann Pächter (1839–1902), who in the 1880s ran Kunsthandlung R. Wagner in Berlin. He had made a name for himself as agent for Adolph von Menzel and in 1895 also briefly took Max Liebermann under contract.

After obtaining his doctorate in law at the University of Vienna in 1906, Armin Reichmann worked as a journalist for the Österreichische Volkszeitung, Morgen and Berliner Börsen-Courier.

Ludwig Rochlitzer, who spent his childhood in Graz, studied law at the university and musical harmony at the school of the Musikverein für Steiermark.

Emil Rosner born as the only child of the antiques dealer Leo (Markus Leib) Rosner and Jenni, née Feuer, in Vienna.

After Georg Saiko attended secondary school in Komotau (Chomutov) und Teplitz-Schönau (Teplice), he arrived in Vienna in 1910 and worked on the Österreichische Künstlerbibliographie (Austrian artist bibliography) published by the

In April 1922, Leopoldine Pfaffenmayer from Vienna was appointed Prokurist (authorized signatory) together with Carl Gruber and Georg Prachner of the Vienna antique book and art dealership

Pia Schölnberger

Studium der Germanistik und Geschichte an der Universität Wien; unter anderem Mitarbeit beim Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds sowie in den NS-"Euthanasie"-Gedenkstätten Hartheim und "Am Spiegelgrund"; 2008–2011 Projektmitarbeit zu politisch motiviertem Vermögensentzug in Wien 1933–1938 am Institut für Rechts- und Verfassungsgeschichte der Universität Wien; Promotion mit einer Arbeit zum austrofaschistischen Anhaltelager Wöllersdorf; 2011–2017 Provenienzforscherin in der Albertina im Auftrag der Kommission für Provenienzforschung, seit 2017 Wechsel an die Sektion Kunst und Kultur, damals im Bundeskanzleramt; seit 2019 administrative Leiterin der Kommission für Provenienzforschung.

Am 4. Juli 1776, dem US-amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitstag, übergab der kaiserliche Gesandte Giacomo Durazzo in Venedig Herzog Albert von Sachsen-Teschen (1738–1822) und dessen Frau Marie Christine (1742–1798) eine Sammlung von Kupferstichen, die sie zwei Jahre zuvor in Auftrag gegeben hatten.

Ausschlaggebend für die Einrichtung des in der Wiener Innenstadt gelegenen Augustinerkellers als Bergungsstelle war Karl Graf Lanckoronskis (1848–1939) Kunstsammlung, die im Herbst 1939 bei dessen Sohn Anton gemäß "Verordnung über Behandlung von Vermögen der Angehörigen des ehemaligen polnischen

Der Münchener Rechtsanwalt Alexander Bayer wurde Anfang Februar 1931 unter der Nummer 423.018 bei der Ortsgruppe München in die NSDAP aufgenommen, trat aber ein halbes Jahr später wieder aus, weil er, wie er 1942 angab, als Verteidiger Erich Ludendorffs Kollisionsgefahren befürchtet habe.

Nach dem Studium der Rechte an der Universität Wien trat Josef Blauhorn zunächst in die Dienste der Prager Eisenindustrie-Gesellschaft, um 1916 als Einzelprokurist an das Wiener Bankhaus Gebrüder Gutmann zu wechseln, für das er bis zu seiner Flucht aus Österreich 1939 tätig sein sollte.

Ab 1926 studierte Bernhard Degenhart Kunstgeschichte in München, Wien und Berlin. Seine Dissertation über Lorenzo di Credi schrieb er zunächst bei August Liebmann Mayer an der Universität München.

Josef Zdenko Dworak, dessen Vater Wenzel Dworak bereits eine Speditionsfirma leitete, gründete 1919, im Alter von 19 Jahren, sein eigenes Speditionsunternehmen,

Die Eheleute August und Helene Eymer, die während der 1910er-Jahre nach Österreich gekommen waren und 1933 die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft erlangten, führten die

Nachdem Benno Fleischmann sein Studium der Kunstgeschichte, Archäologie, Philosophie und historischen Hilfswissenschaften an der Universität Wien 1930 mit einer Dissertation über Giovanni Bellini abgeschlossen hatte, leistete er zunächst wissenschaftliche Hilfsdienste an der Bibliothek des

Nach der Hochzeit mit der Kaufmannstochter Clara Dresel (1878–1947) stieg Julius Freund 1902 als Mitinhaber in die von seinem Schwiegervater gegründete Damenkonfektionsfirma Wilhelm Dresel in der Niederwallstraße 13 in Berlin ein. Gemeinsam mit den Kindern Hans Max (geb. 1905) und Gisela (geb.

Der gelernte Kellner Alois Getzinger machte sich 1922 als Trödelhändler am Standort Wien 15, Turnergasse 28, selbständig und war zwischen 1935 und 1938 auch als Sachverständiger für Effekten und Mobilien tätig.

Emil Goldmann wurde 1872 als ältestes von neun Kindern des Gutspächters Jakob Goldmann und dessen Frau Amalie im mährischen Swoikowitz geboren. Nach der Matura am Gymnasium in Znaim (Znojmo) übersiedelte er zum Studium nach Wien und wurde 1895 zum Doktor der Rechte promoviert.

Das Wiener Buch- und Kunstantiquariat Gilhofer wurde 1883 von Hermann Gilhofer (1852–1913) als Sortimentsbuchhandlung mit Standort in der Wiener Innenstadt, Bognergasse 2, gegründet.

Aus äußerst bescheidenen Verhältnissen stammend, brachte es David Goldmann, der sich in den frühen 1910er-Jahren in Wien niederließ, u. a. zum Direktor der Ujpester Tuchfabriks AG in Budapest, der Wollwarenverkaufs AG in Günzelsdorf sowie der Stoffdruckfabrik in Guntramsdorf.

Elisabeth Grünbaum, die das jüngste von insgesamt acht Kindern war, entstammte einer gutbürgerlichen jüdischen Wiener Familie und wuchs in der Praterstraße im 2. Wiener Gemeindebezirk auf.

Nach der Matura am ersten deutschen k. k. Gymnasium in Brünn 1899 kam Franz Friedrich Grünbaum nach Wien, um Rechtswissenschaften zu studieren. Er legte jedoch nur eines von drei Rigorosen ab und schlug stattdessen eine Laufbahn als Schauspieler, Librettist und Kabarettist ein.

Moriz Grünebaum war der Sohn des k. k. Hofrats und Chefs der Bauabteilung der Staatsbahnen Gustav Grünebaum, der 1876 in den erblichen Ritterstand erhoben worden war.

Margarethe Hassel war von 1909 bis 1927 Schalterbeamtin bei der Creditanstalt, danach bei heute nicht mehr nachvollziehbaren Wiener Dienstgebern angestellt.

Nach der Matura am Staatsgymnasium in Znaim (Znojmo) ging Josef Hupka zum Studium der Rechte zurück in seine Geburtsstadt Wien. 1897, im Jahr seiner Promotion, konvertierte er vom Judentum zum Protestantismus. Nachdem er u. a.

Von 1946 bis 1964 führte Anton Jancsy einen Kleinhandel mit Bildern in der Wiener Innenstadt, Spiegelgasse 8.

Hubert Wilhelm Jung wurde 1883 als jüngstes von sieben Kindern in Stuttgart geboren. Nach dem Besuch des Gymnasiums in Ravensburg immatrikulierte Jung 1904 an der Architekten-Abteilung der Technischen Hochschule München. Eine besondere Beziehung verband ihn mit seinem älteren Bruder Hugo (geb.

Die nach ihrem Gründer Leopold Theodor Neumann (1804–1876) benannte "Kunst- und Musikalienhandlung L. T. Neumann" wurde im Dezember des Jahres 1833 an der exklusiven Adresse Kohlmarkt 11 in der Wiener Innenstadt eröffnet.

Adele Pächter war mit Hermann Pächter (1839–1902) verheiratet, der in den 1880er-Jahren die Kunsthandlung R. Wagner in Berlin betrieb. Er hatte sich u. a. als Leibhändler Adolph von Menzels einen Namen gemacht und nahm 1895 etwa auch kurzfristig Max Liebermann unter Vertrag.

Nach seiner Promotion zum Doktor der Rechte an der Universität Wien 1906 war Armin Reichmann als Journalist etwa bei der Österreichischen Volkszeitung, beim Morgen und beim Berliner Börsencourier tätig. Mit seiner Frau Rosa, née Mühlendorf (geb.

Ludwig Rochlitzer, der seine Kindheit in Graz verbracht hatte, studierte ebendort Rechtswissenschaften sowie u. a. Harmonielehre an der Schule des Musikvereins für Steiermark.

Emil Rosner wuchs als einziges Kind des Antiquitätenhändlers Leo (Markus Leib) Rosner und der Jenni, née Feuer, in Wien auf. Nach seiner Rückkehr aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft infolge seiner Weltkriegsteilnahme lebte er seit August 1920 in Wien 5, Rüdigergasse 12.

Nachdem Georg Saiko seine Gymnasialzeit in Komotau (Chomutov) und Teplitz-Schönau (Teplice) verbracht hatte, kam er 1910 nach Wien, wo er an der vom Denkmalamt herausgegebenen Österreichischen Künstlerbibliographie mitarbeitete und seinen Studien in Kunstgeschichte, Archäologie und Psych

Die Wienerin Leopoldine Pfaffenmayer wurde im April 1922 gemeinsam mit Carl Gruber und Georg Prachner zur Kollektivprokuristin des Wiener Buch- und Kunstantiquariats