Anneliese Schallmeiner

Studied art history in Vienna; since 1999 member of the Commission for Provenance Research and employed in the archive of the Federal Monuments Authority; since 2012 archivist in the Federal Monuments Authority; research focuses: the monuments authority in Vienna before and during the annexation of Austria to the German Reich; salvaging of cultural objects, storage in and return from the Operation Zone of the Adriatic Littoral.

During the Nazi era, Salzbergwerk (salt mine) Altaussee in Upper Danube Gau was one of the most important depots, along with

Hermann Eissler studied geology at the University of Vienna, writing his doctoral thesis in 1883 on the geological structure of the Rax Alps. Afterwards, he joined the family timber business J. Eissler & Brüder and became a partner in 1897.

The constituting meeting of the Imperial Royal Central Commission for the Investigation and Preservation of Monuments (k. k. Central-Commission zur Erforschung und Erhaltung der Baudenkmale) established at the end of 1850 as an advisory committee took place in 1853.

Walter Frodl obtained his doctorate in art history and archaeology in July 1930 from the University of Graz and worked thereafter as an unpaid assistant in the Kärntner Landesdenkmalamt (

While studying law, Herbert Seiberl was until 1929 a student in Hans Tichy and Josef Jungwirth's painting class at the

After Emma and Antonia Bunzel ceded title to Thürnthal Castle near Fels am Wagram to the German Reich at the end of June 1943 under the 11th Regulation to the Reich Citizenship Law, the Oberfinanzpräsident for Vienna and Lower Danub

Anneliese Schallmeiner

Studium der Kunstgeschichte in Wien. Seit 1999 Mitglied der Kommission für Provenienzforschung Österreich und Mitarbeiterin im Archiv des Bundesdenkmalamtes. Seit 2012 Archivarin des Archivs des Bundesdenkmalamtes. Forschungsschwerpunkte: Die Denkmalbehörde in Wien vor und während des "Anschlusses" Österreichs an das Deutsche Reich, Bergung von Kulturgut sowie die Lagerung und Rückführung von Objekten in bzw. aus der Operationszone Adriatisches Küstenland.

Hermann Eissler studierte Geologie an der Universität Wien, wo er 1883 zu dem Thema Der geologische Bau der Rax Alpe promovierte. Danach trat er in das von der Familie geführte Holzunternehmen J. Eissler & Brüder ein und wurde 1897 öffentlicher Gesellschafter.

Walter Frodl promovierte im Juli 1930 an der Universität Graz in den Fächern Kunstgeschichte und Archäologie. Anschließend arbeitete er als Volontär für das Kärntner Landesdenkmalamt.

Neben dem Studium der Rechtswissenschaft war Herbert Seiberl bis 1929 als Schüler in der Klasse für Malerei von Hans Tichy und Josef Jungwirth an der

Nachdem die Eigentumsrechte von Emma und Antonia Bunzel an Schloss Thürnthal bei Fels am Wagram Ende Juni 1943 gemäß der 11. Verordnung zum Reichsbürgergesetz dem Deutschen Reich verfallen waren, übernahm der Oberfinanzpräsident für Wien und Niederdonau die Verwaltung des Gebäudekomplexes.